Skip to Navigation Skip to content

Regional and Mesoscale Meteorology Branch

Search the RAMMB website

The GOESR Risk Reduction Project (GOES-R3)

2017 through 2020 Participants, Projects/Proposals, and Reports


 Participants

Contacts

Projects  

Project Titles
2016 – 2019

January-June
2017
Reports
July-December 2017 Reports January-June
2018
Reports
July-December 2018 Reports   January-June
2019
Reports  
July-December 2019 Reports   January-June
2020
Reports
 CoRP   2016
2017
               
 
CIMSS
S
tAR
Mike Pavolonis
Mike.Pavolonis@noaa.gov
301 VOLCAT Development for GOES-R:
Volcanic Ash and SO2
Report Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
  Mike Pavolonis
Mike.Pavolonis@noaa.gov
302 Fog and Low Stratus Report Report Final
Report
       
  Tony Wimmers
Wimmers@ssec.wisc.edu
303

 

Evaluation of Turbulence-Detection Methods on Himawari-8 Report Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
 

Brad Pierce
Brad.Pierce@noaa.gov
Chris Velden
chrisv@ssec.wisc.edu
Megan Bela
megan.bela@noaa.gov

308 CIMSS Support to GOES-R
High Impact Weather Risk Reduction
Report Report Report Report Report Report Report
  Mike Pavolonis
Mike.Pavolonis@noaa.gov
421 ProbSevere: Upgrades and Adaptation
to Offshore Thunderstorms
  CIMSS Report
CIRA
Report
Report Report Report Report Final
Report
  Jun Li
Jun.Li@ssec.wisc.edu
439 Improving the Assimilation of High-Resolution GOES-16 Water Vapor Variables
and Atmospheric Motion Vectors in the HWRF Model
  Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
 

Claire Pettersen
Claire.Pettersen@ssec.wisc.edu
Mark Kulie
Mskulie@wisc.edu

480 An Enhanced Lake Effect Nowcasting Tool Using Synergistic GOES-R, NEXRAD, and Ground-Based Snowfall Microphysics Observations   Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
  Satya Kalluri
Satya.Kalluri@noaa.gov
488 Upgrading the GOES ET and Drought (GET-D) Product System for GOES-16 and 17 Report Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
 
CIRA
StAR
Chris Kummerow
Christian.Kummerow@colostate.edu
Steve Miller
Steven.Miller@colostate.edu
Kyle Hilburn
Kyle.Hilburn@colostate.edu
307 Connecting GOES-R High Resolution Temporal Information with Rapid Updating Models Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
  Milija.Zupanski
Milija.Zupanski@colostate.edu
410 Data assimilation of GLM observations
in HWRF/GSI system
  Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
 

Lewis Grasso
Lewis.Grasso@colostate.edu

420 GOES-R ABI channel differencing used to reveal cloud-free zones of ‘precursors
of convective initiation’
  Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
  John Forsythe
John.Forsythe@colostate.edu
444 Using the New Capabilities of GOES-R to Improve Blended, Multisensor Water Vapor Products for Forecasters   Report Report Report Report Report Report
  Steve Miller
Steven.Miller@colostate.edu
476 Developing an Environmental Awareness Repertoire of ABI Imagery (‘DEAR-ABII’) to Advise the Operational Weather Forecaster   Report Report Report Report Report Final Report
  John Haynes
John.Haynes@colostate.edu
479 Improving the ABI Cloud Layers Product for Multiple Layer Cloud Systems and
Aviation Forecast Applications
  Report Report Report Report Report Report
 
CIRA
CIMMS
Kristin Calhoun
Kristin.Kuhlman@noaa.gov
477 Integration of the Geostationary Lightning Mapper with ground-based lightning detection systems for National Weather Service Operations   Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
 
    Other
 
George Mason University Sanmei Li
Slia@masonlive.gmu.edu
402 Integration of GOES-R/ABI data in Flood Mapping Software for Flood Monitoring and Forecasting   Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
University of Oklahoma Pierre Kirstetter
Pierre.Kirstetter@noaa.gov
424 Probabilistic precipitation rate estimates from
GOES-R for hydrologic applications
  Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
University of Oklahoma Xuguang Wang
Xuguang.Wang@ou.edu
449 Assimilation of high resolution GOES-R ABI infrared water vapor and cloud sensitive radiances using the GSI-based hybrid ensemble-variational data assimilation system to improve convection initiation forecast   Report Report Report Report Report Final
Report
University of
Alabama-Huntsville
Phillip Bitzer
phillip.bitzer@nsstc.uah.edu
450 Bayesian Merging of GLM data
with Ground-Based Networks
  Report Report Report Report
Report
Final
Report
NASA
MSFC
Christopher Schultz
Christopher.J.Schultz@nasa.gov
460 Utilizing Sub-Flash Properties of GLM to Monitor Convective Intensity with Probabilistic Guidance  

Report
Poster

Report Poster Report Report
Report
Final
Report
CAPS
University of Oklahoma
Ming Xue
Mxue@ou.edu
473 Assimilation of High-Frequency GOES-R Geostationary Lightning Mapper (GLM) Flash Extent Density Data in GSI-Based EnKF and Hybrid for Improving Convective Scale Weather Predictions   Report Report Report Report
Report
Report

 

Page Contact